The Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) is the brainchild of the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA), created as an exciting platform in the game’s shortest format for talented and promising cricketers from across the state to showcase their talent.

Now in its fourth edition, the Sankar Cement-sponsored TNPL 2019, comprising eight teams and 32 matches, will be played over 28 days across three venues between July 19 and August 15.

The three venues are ICL-Sankar Nagar cricket ground in Tirunelveli, the NPR Cricket ground in Natham (Dindigul) and the M A Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

In all, 15 matches each will be played in Tirunelveli and Dindigul and 2 matches – including the final – in Chennai.

The tournament has grown both in stature and popularity over the past two seasons, and a total of 878 players (an increase of 106 players registered last year), including all the leading names, registered for the exciting TNPL-4 Player draft that was held in Chennai on July 4th. A host big names were picked and traded, setting up an exciting season ahead.

Jones Tuti Patriots renamed their franchise at Tuti Patriots for the fourth edition.

Albert TUTI Patriots clinched the inaugural 2016 edition by beating Chepauk Super Gillies in the final while the Gillies exacted revenge by beating the Thoothukudi franchise in the 2017 final to emerge champions. The fourth season, once again proved a close affair, and we had a new winner in Siechem Madurai Panthers, who beat Dindigul Dragons in the finals.

Looking back, the eight franchises, namely Albert Tuti Patriots, Chepauk Super Gillies, Lyca Kovai Kings, Madurai Super Giants , Ruby Trichy Warriors, VB Thiruvallur Veerans, Dindigul Dragons, Karaikudi Kaalai came into existence following a thrilling bidding process before the inaugural edition.

The TNPL was inaugurated by the then India skipper MS Dhoni in the company of senior TNCA officials. Star India have been the official broadcasters since inception and matches in the first two editions were telecast live and extensively covered in both English and Tamil. The commentary team has also included some of the biggest names in the global game.